This is Nothing…I Beat Cancer!

ScaredHave you ever been in the position where you are facing something really big? Not necessarily life-threatening, or maybe it is, but something that gets the juices flowing inside of you? At that moment, you have a decision to make. You can either withdraw and go into preservation mode, or you can rise up and prepare to stand your ground no matter what it costs you. I’ve had a few of those moments in my life, one of which was a cancer diagnosis a couple of years ago. When that news was given to me, I didn’t react externally, but inwardly I remember thinking to myself, “It’s time to get after it and beat this thing.” When you have faith, family, and friends who matter to you – you must be willing to fight! Two years later, I am cancer free and doing well! Others I’ve known, even within my own family, have not been so fortunate over the same time period.

This post isn’t about cancer specifically. It’s about the adrenaline rush and the positive attitude and the determination that when facing a challenge – personally or professionally – is critically important to the outcome.

This week, I have a new challenge before me, only this time is in my professional life. I have a new business that has been started in a full-time capacity. For the past few years, I’ve had the opportunity to do some consultancy work for various companies regarding their recruitment efforts. Maybe it was evaluating their current strategies, processes, technologies, people, etc. and making recommendations on the most effective and efficient ways to tweak those things to get strong results. Maybe it was leading training efforts for recruiters or those internal managers who make hiring decisions in effective interviewing techniques. Or the way that most people know me is through the SHRM webcasts that I lead where 1500-2000 HR executives and leaders listen each month to hear my ideas regarding the future of recruiting and the ways to build a world class model today. I’ve loved being able to do this type of work, and now it is my focus full-time. This week I launched DX2 Consulting.

DX2 Square LogoNo more guaranteed salary. I rise or I fall based on my own efforts. I’ve owned my own business before and did quite well, so this isn’t uncharted territory for me, but it has been a while and the way you build a business now has a few new challenges. My hope is that those who have been listening to me on those webcasts will now contact me and engage me to come to their organizations and “work my magic.” And if anyone reading this can help me spread the word and send leads my way, it would be greatly appreciated. But when you look at this current challenge objectively, there are far more serious things that people deal with each day. I know. I’ve dealt with them.

If you want to know more about DX2 Consulting, click here to be taken to my web site, or here to be taken to the DX2 LinkedIn page.

As I close this post today, I wanted to share some quotes around this topic that have helped to shape my thinking:

  • “It still holds true that man is most uniquely human when he turns obstacles into opportunities.” – Eric Hoffer
  • “What is the difference between an obstacle and an opportunity? Our attitude toward it. Every opportunity has a difficulty, and every difficulty has an opportunity.” – J. Sidlow Baxter
  • “Success is determined not by whether or not you face obstacles, but by your reaction to them. And if you look at these obstacles as a containing fence, they become your excuse for failure. If you look at them as a hurdle, each one strengthens you for the next.” – Ben Carson
  • “When it is dark enough, you can see the stars.”  – Charles A. Beard
  • “You have set yourselves a difficult task, but you will succeed if you persevere, and you will find a joy in overcoming obstacles. Remember, no effort that we make to attain something beautiful is ever lost. What I am looking for is not out there, it is in me.” – Helen Keller
One response to “This is Nothing…I Beat Cancer!

  1. Congratulations on the new business venture.

    I am faced with a similar challenge, this week. I was “advised” a week ago that I am likely to be made redundant. But my skills will allow me to replace my salary fairly quickly if I start my own business. That’s my challenge. So. Here goes.

    Thanks for the pep talk.

Leave a Reply

